The Un-Make-up Make-up Blog

As a former trained make-up artist and cosmetician and long-time make-up and cosmetics junkie, I’ve seen trends come and go, and come back again. With the explosion of social media and hundreds of very successful amateur bloggers who boast millions of avid and dedicated followers, why start another make-up blog?

Well, I’ve noticed some things that have disturbed me over the years in the world of cosmetics: among them, the overtly consumerist attitudes (which have always been there, but have only amplified due to the global reach of social media), that perpetuate the idea that in order to be beautiful, you must buy as well as buy-in to the *next big trend*. ┬áThe cosmetics industry is a multi-billion dollar industry; in very simple terms, they don’t make money unless they make you feel ugly without buying their products.

And just like the old, “youth = beauty” equation that women especially seem bombarded with (although men are definitely targeted as well now), I see a lot of young women spending hundreds if not thousands of dollars on the latest palette, or the “best” quality make-up brushes, just to keep up with their peers, or because it was promoted by their favourite social media star.

Don’t get me wrong: I love and still enjoy buying and wearing make-up. I like the way you can play with it like you would a canvas and paint–if executed well, it can truly be an artful expression of individuality. This blog isn’t about promoting a brand, or selling a product, or testing the latest lipstick in order to suggest you go out and buy it–there are plenty of very good blogs and channels out there that already do that.

I’m not here to teach you how to achieve the next new make-up trend either. I plan on posting about all the latest trends (without mentioning the products used or trying to sell you anything), but in a way where you can achieve them with the products you already have in your make-up collection. I’m writing this blog, so I can train your eye and you can learn and see how to see through the cosmetic industry’s mumbo-jumbo pseudo-science and selling features.

Not only am I not writing this to sell or promote a particular brand, I’m also not writing this to bash the cosmetics industry either. As I mentioned above, I still buy make-up and wear it, I use skincare products as well. I think there is so much information already and so many sites that tell you what to use for your particular skin or beauty concern, that I wouldn’t be adding much to the conversation if this was a blog that repeated what’s already been said a million times.

My advice to you is to live within your means, buy the products that seem to work for you, don’t test on animals, or who’s company’s code of ethics you agree with, or use ingredients that are not considered toxic, or even simply because you just like the way it feels, smells, looks on you. But don’t buy it just because someone on Instagram is wearing it, or it’s selling-out fast at Sephora. Cosmetics should be fun, an indulgence, a pleasure–it shouldn’t turn you into a slave to the latest social media trend.

Leave a Reply

